Half Day Morning Tour (minimum 4 guests)
İstanbul Archaeological Museums consist of three museums: Archaeological Museum, Museum of Ancient Orient and the Tiled Kiosk.
It houses over one million objects that represent almost all of the eras and civilizations in the history.
The museum received European Council Museum Award in 1991. The site of the museum belonged to the Topkapı Palace’s outer gardens. Many governers from the provinces would send in found artifacts to the capital city. The facade of the building was inspired by the Sarcophagus of the Mourning Woman, housed inside the museum.
The museum has a large collection of Hellenistic and Roman artifacts. The most prominent artifacts exhibited in the museum include: The Alexander Sarcophagus, Sarcophagus of the Crying Women.
The Museum of the Ancient Orient was commissioned in 1883 as a fine arts school. Then it was reorganised as a museum. Glazed tile images from the Isthar Gate of Babylon, parts of statues from the Temple of Zeus found at Bergama and artifacts from the early civilizations of Anatolia, Mesopotamia, Egypt and Troy are exhibited in this museum.
The Tiled Kiosk (The First Harem of Ottomans) dates from 1472. It was built by the Ottoman Sultan Mehmet II as the first and the most beautiful Harem of Ottoman Palace.
It was used as the Imperial Museum and was later incorporated into the İstanbul Archaeological Museums. It is one of the oldest structures in İstanbul featuring Ottoman civil architecture.
The pavillion contains many examples of İznik tiles and Seljuk pottery and now houses other examples of Islamic Art.